Promoting and Enhancing Excellence in Education
About HEF
About HEF
Promoting and Enhancing Excellence in Education
The Hauppauge Educational Foundation was established in 1999 to provide a community organization to support the educational goals of the Hauppauge School District, which promote and support initiatives for lifelong learning.
As a private foundation, we exist to lend financial assistance to the Hauppauge School District, teachers, students, and community groups in support of innovative projects and or programs geared to student acquisition of lifelong learning skills in the arts and sciences.    
The Foundation makes direct grants, and provides scholarships to the school district, students, teachers, and student groups.  HEF also administers matching funds for projects and/or start-up programs that align to our mission.
About HEF
Who We've Helped
In the past five years, HEF as donated over $80,000 to the Hauppauge School District, Students, and Community
Here are some of the donations we have provided

  • Annual Scholarships for Leadership/Academic Achievements
  • Electronic sign on school property by Rte. 111
  • Middle School 3D printer
  • Poster printer for Middle School
  • 30 Mountain Bicycles for Physical Education
  • Grants for Robotics - K-12
  • The Sound Room for TV production facility
  • Wrestling Mat
  • Digital Sewing Machine for Family and Consumer Science
  • Smithtown Historical Society
  • Annual Hall Of Fame Banquet
  • Annual Family Fun Run
  • Elementary Literacy Grant
  • Weatherbug Grant
  • Arithmatics Grant
  • Music Equipment
  • Grant’s for Character Education Assemblies
  • 20 Laptops for Middle School On-Line Education
  • Athletic Field Scoreboards & Stadium sign
Board of Directors

Fred Pitrelli - President
La Young Trantum- Vice President
Richard Hoffman - Vice President
Christopher Marchese - Treasurer

Janet Kohilakis - Secretary
Lillian Albertelli

David Barshay
Paul Borowski

Breanne Delligatti
Gary Fortmeyer

Kevin Giachetti
Laura Landor
William Maida
Dr. Dennis O'Hara

Jackie Pirra
Stephanie Scaduto

Robert Scarito
Tina Sferrazza
Carla Simpson